Maine Alliance for Smart Growth

Maine Alliance for Smart Growth

a program of GrowSmart Maine

The Maine Alliance for Smart Growth (MASG) is a network brought together by GrowSmart Maine with a proven interest in smart growth: supporting economically and culturally vital downtowns and the natural areas surrounding them – working farms and forests, open space and waterfronts. 

While MASG operates under the idea that “if you’ve seen one rural town, you’ve seen one rural town”, there is value in a network that can share best practices, community updates, and create connections to helpful resources. Ushering in a more equitable, resilient future for Maine means that no community is left behind when it comes to decision-making that creates happier, healthier, more thriving places.  


MASG members include individuals, municipalities, businesses, and organizations that support smart growth values.

GrowSmart Maine’s executive director is a registered lobbyist who brings this expertise to the MASG and leads advocacy on key smart growth issues. GrowSmart commits up to 20% of our resources to communicating directly with the Legislature and the Governor and her staff to advocate in support of the benefits of smart growth.

Your financial support of GrowSmart Maine makes this possible and membership in MASG is included in GrowSmart Maine membership. Steering committee members also connect their community volunteer networks with MASG.

Please click here to join GrowSmart Maine, and you will add to the strength of this effort by increasing the number of people united in support of smart growth.


Our new Smartini events offer a chance to network while exploring smart growth successes. Our advocacy includes big picture priorities such as climate change actions and boots on the ground issues like the unintended impact of variations in mil rates and ordinances by creating sprawl that eats up productive open space while weakening villages, downtowns, and city centers

The MASG Steering Committee

MASG is guided by a steering committee comprising town and city representatives, business, non-profits, and agencies which collectively provide expertise in land use planning, transportation, energy and broadband, land conservation, historic preservation and real estate development, strategic business development, collaborative community engagement, strategic investments in public infrastructure, and addressing climate change.

Steering Committee Members:

GrowSmart Maine, Nancy Smith
AARP Maine, Japhet Els
Build Maine, Kara Wilbur
Eastern Maine Community College, Chris Winstead
CEI, Amy  Winston
City of Lewiston, Linc Jeffers
Greater Portland Landmarks, Sarah Hansen
Genesis Community Fund John Egan
Island Institute, Nick Battista
LK Planning, LLC, Donna Larson Kane
Maine Association of Planners, Amanda Bunker
Maine Downtown Center/mdf, Anne Ball     
Maine Housing, Mark Wiesendanger             
Maine Preservation, Tara Kelly 
Maine Public Health Association
Northern Forest Center, Mike Wilson        
Portland Downtown, Cary Tyson 
The Nature Conservancy in Maine, Kaitlyn Nuzzo     
Town of Gray, Nate Rudy